BSOW: Little Matchgirl and 500 more

Tada!!! Blow on those noisemakers, bang those drums, and turn up the music!! I wanna play it LOUD!!!

Guess what?!

Today, on Friday the 13th in the year of our Lord 2012, at this precise moment you are reading my

POST!!

That’s right folks. This is a landmark event. 500 posts and

a. I haven’t quit yet.

b. there’s still plenty of poop to talk about

c. y’all are still here

so, I must be doing SOMETHING right, eh?

And here to help me celebrate today is a very special lady.

If you do not know this lady yet, you really need to smack yourself.

No, seriously. You need to whack yourself. With your bikini.

And I must admit that I don’t know exactly how many posts she’s written, BUT!

Once upon a time she was a newbie too. And as a newbie, she had the whine wine-ing down pat.

She goes through her own world’s worst mother issues. Boy, does she ever!

She has conversations with God in quiet places and she is on a never-ending quest to find her other self.

I am so excited to have her here today celebrating my

POST!

with me. She’s smart, she’s eternally witty, and she’ll be the first one to tell you: DO SWEAT THE SMALL STUFF!!

And you should know that anyone who calls themselves “Sweaty” is going to get a hearty welcome on a blog with “Poop” in the title!

I asked Sweaty: “If you could be any character from a storybook for just one day, who would it be and how would you change the story?”

She says:

I don’t like stories that end sadly, so it would have to be a character from storybooks that don’t have “happy endings.”  The one that immediately came to my mind was from the short story The Little Match Girl by the Danish poet and author HansChristianAndersen.   This is one story that never fails to bring me to tears just to hear a mention of it.  It’s that powerful.  If you’re unfamiliar with the story, you could read the synopsis here or the whole story here.

So if I could be any character from that storybook, it would be as one of the passersby to whom that little girl was trying to sell the matches.  And what I would do, would be to pause for a minute and really take a good look at that little girl.  To then hold her hand, give her my warm coat to wear and something to eat.  And upon finding out that her father was one abusive bastard, I would bring her home, adopt her as my own, and show her what every child needs: a stable home and unconditional love.

This story became even more poignant to me after becoming a mother to my little girl.  I really encourage you to read the whole story.  It’s very short, but one you won’t forget.  And tell me if it didn’t make you want to hug your children and tell them “I love you so, so much” afterwards!

Isn’t she something? You know she’s all over the internet too. You can find her hanging out here:

My blog (NEW WP SITE): Do Sweat the Small Stuff

Twitter: @dosweatthesmall

My FB Page: http://facebook.com/dosweat

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/sweaty/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/111461648986965709400/posts

Email: dosweat@gmail.com

Starting this January 2012 I’m also a contributor at Just.Be.Enough

Phew!! She gets around!!

So. Tell me.  Are you excited or what? And just for fun (and because its MY PARTY), here’s a little dance music…

19 thoughts on “BSOW: Little Matchgirl and 500 more

  1. Congrats on 500. I never knew about your poop 😦 I must return.
    As for Sweaty, I just developed a crush.. That was my favorite story from childhood and I never thought about being in it and changing it. Too cool. I am leaving charged up and happy! Go Sweaty!

  2. congratulations on your 500th post, and so wonderful to know even more about Sweaty. Love her so very much. So grateful to have found the both of you on twitter, and be blessed by your friendship and encouragement. *HUG*

  3. I have found many wonderful blogs through Sweaty, and now here is another!

    Congrats on hanging in there! So many blog fizzle out after time. I always ask myself how my whole life began revolving around people’s bodily functions, so the title of your blog made me smile.

    • Hi Janice! I’m so glad I could introduce you to Steph, aka. The Drama Mama. She’s really all kinds of awesome, as I’m sure you could already glimpse from the title of her blog! Never thought I’d associate Poop with awesome before, but here is an exception 😉

      And Drama Mama, Janice’s been a buddy of mine since the early days of my blog. She has such an honest way of putting into words her feelings and views, and her posts are dang insightful and thought-provoking. Really, she’s a gem!

  4. Congratulations on your 500th! Thanks to Sweaty for a great post and much gratitude for the dance music. In all, a great way to heat up a snowy January morning.

  5. Wow, woww, wowww!!! Congrats on reaching your 500th post, Stephanie! That’s an awesome accomplishment–one I could hopefully follow in your footsteps!

    I’m thrilled to finally be featured here as the Best Scoop of the Week (let me tell ya, folks, it’s the sorta thing that would really make me move like Jagger!). On Drama Mama’s 500th post nonetheless! I’m honored and as always inspired by Stephanie’s never-ending talents, creativity, humor, and the love she has for her family.

    Best wishes, girlfriend! Here’s to 500 more, k!!! Mwahhh!

Shoot the Poop with the Drama Mama!

