The Whole NaNoWriMo Truth

This time last year I took on a new project. I was terrified. I spent days belittling myself. I would push the words out, then go blank. I toiled on, even switching stories in week 2 that would flow along faster for me.

I did it. I wrote a novel in November of last year.

The moment I hit “publish” at NaNoWriMo and saw the word count pop up and crown me an official winner is priceless.

The feeling you get is exhilarating. It puts everything in perspective for you. It is a HUGE ego boost because you can claim something that probably most of the people you know in real life can’t.

I WROTE A BOOK.

I did.

And that book is in current revision, with beta readers waiting on the sidelines to offer their constructive criticism. By June, I hope to have my first novel published, whether that be through self-publishing or through an agent (and wouldn’t that be grand?!).

The truth is, I am excited. I have worked hard to realize I am good enough to write a novel. I am good enough to get it edited, and I am good enough to publish it.

This has nothing to do with the words contained within the book. The book may never go anywhere. And yeah, that matters in its own way, but the truth here is very simple.

The truth is, when you look at the big picture, I am enough. And that is all that matters. Thank you, NaNoWriMo for helping me realize that.

And just to let you know, you can expect the sporadic posting to continue this month. I’m focusing on NaNo, but the Friday BSOW will still be going on, and I’ll do some blogging about the NaNo too. I’ll miss you, but that only makes us fonder of each other, right? 😉

27 thoughts on “The Whole NaNoWriMo Truth

  1. Congratulations! That is a big achievement and I can just imagine your excitement. I’d love to write a children’s book one day and wish there was some sort of opportunity like this for that area of writing. I wish you well in your pursuit of this dream! 🙂

  2. Congratulations!! This post was inspiring and I think I’m going to do NaNoWriMo next year. Not in the right head space for it right now, but looking forward to next year. And congrats again!

    • Thanks, Ixy. I know that when you decide to do it, you will rock those pages. I havent been able to get around like I’ve wanted to lately and read II posts and the new format has made it a little harder for me to do so (I do a lot of reading from my email!), but I know that you are a talented writer, and will meet the challenge head on when you do it. Here’s to taking the 2012 NaNo by its horns!

    • I think I have already buddied up with you via WoE.. You know me from my writing blog, My Write Side, over there. I’m so very happy to see so many WoE people doing it this year! It’s exciting!

  3. How wonderful for you. You must be so excited for you current book and the one that waits for you at the end of the month. I keep reading post after post about NaNoWriMo and I am excited for each one of you. Good luck!!! -Laverne

  4. I did NaNo for the first time last year, too. My “novel” is still untitled and I haven’t revised it much, but I’m okay with that. It may end up being a 50K word back story on what ends up being supporting characters in a future story and if that’s what happens, then so be it. I got such a shot of confidence when I participated last year! I was held hostage by my own perfectionism and when I decided to try NaNo last year and I gave myself permission to write crap and not finish, it was so liberating to me. I hit 50K words. I’m going to participate again this year, but unlike last year, I’m plotting and planning a bit more.

    Good luck this year!

    • I’d say I will miss you, but you are such a huge part of my writing world, I won’t. I will miss having you as a NaNo buddy this year though.

Shoot the Poop with the Drama Mama!

