BSOW: A Little Southern Comfort

This week’s Best Scoop of the Week is a Yankee gone southern. I mean that in every sense of the word, y’all. The trouble is she hadn’t even realized HOW much south had sneaked into her repertoire until her ex pointed it out.

She struggles over which Southern bandwagons to jump on, too, and you know, that could be a dangerous feat if she chooses the wrong ones. For real. Especially if she is fixin’ to hook up with a good ol’ boy.

Her life hasn’t been all fun and games though, and life took a very serious turn for her. She bared her new perspective for her readers in such a beautiful and honest way.

Who is this amazingly funny, down to earth, single mom? It’s Sorta Southern Single Mom from none other than Single Mom in the South!!

And here is a fabulous guest post she wrote just for y’all, my beloved and devoted readers…

When Drama Mama contacted me to tell me it was my turn to be featured for Scoop of the Week, I thought, “Absolutely!”  I mean, who doesn’t want to be featured??  Then I read the directions where she told me I needed to choose a lyric or verse from a song or poem to describe my life.  Do y’all know how HARD that is???

I started trying to think of something poignant about a mother’s love or starting over and I couldn’t think of anything.  All of a sudden, something popped into my head.  I’m not sure how well it describes my whole life, but it definitely describes how I’ve been feeling lately.  If you head over to Single Mom in the South and just scroll down, you might see what I mean.

It’s been a rough fall, y’all.  I’ve just been feeling a little overwhelmed by it all.  Finally, last week as I stood at the mechanic as he looked me in the eye and said, “Miss Leigh, I know you are planning on getting a new car, but if you don’t fix this, you need to head on over to Wal Mart and get yourself one of those mini fire extinguishers, just in case…”   I thought, this is it, I cannot possibly take another thing!

Nothing major mind you ~ okay, my car catching on fire while I drive down the road is potentially a big deal, but I WAS planning on getting a new one as soon as I had time to car shop ~ what I mean is everyone is healthy, I have a job, I have great friends who are super supportive, I’m finally dating after being single for a very long time….  I’m blessed and life really isn’t that bad, but the little things, those little stressors, both good and bad, have been adding up and this was my breaking point, leaving me thinking,

Did I Shave My Legs For This?

Thank you Deanna Carter!  I owned this CD before I moved Below the Mason Dixon Line and before I liked country.  My sister saw it and knew I’d appreciate owning it regardless of the genre.

So I’ve called my mom, who has been waiting for four years for me to call and say, “Mommy, I need you,” so she could swoop in and take care of us.  She is arriving this afternoon and will hold down the fort so I can go car shopping this week.  I’m taking a day off on Wednesday and hopefully will find what I want quickly and painlessly.  Wish me luck and send me prayers.

And be sure to check back, because when my mother visits it’s ALWAYS entertaining!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Have a great weekend!!

7 thoughts on “BSOW: A Little Southern Comfort

  1. Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

  2. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back from now on. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great work, have a nice evening!

Shoot the Poop with the Drama Mama!

