BSOW: ATM Dreams

Its ice cream sharing time again. This week I have such a special lady. She’s learned a valuable lesson from an unlikely source. She knows exactly what she would say to Oprah if the occasion ever arose. She knows exactly where the most decorative bathroom is. And she’s dealt with cyberbullies and won.

Please welcome the fantastic waytenmom of Perspicacity to the Scoop on Poop today!

She was asked: “If an ATM could be custom created for you, what would it spew out instead of money?”. Her response:

Before what it would spew out, a design element:  It would contain, where “regular” ATMs have a camera lens for security, a special ray that detects my persistent tinnitus that makes it sound like a static-y tv is constantly on in my head and zaps it away, immediately and permanently. (Hey, it doesn’t hurt to wish!)

It would be like those newfangled ATMs that give out other things besides money (for instance, I have seen one that gives out books of stamps).  I would be able to select any (or all) of the following:

–       A stay at an immersion language school long enough to walk out fluent in Spanish

–       An invitation from Jeannie Mai and “How Do I Look” to be a guest on the show

–       Sight for my mother-in-law, who has been blind since 1985

–       The end of neck pain for my father-in-law

–       Tickets to “their dream cruise” for my parents (that they wouldn’t find an excuse not to use)

–       A letter from the IRS that “all is forgiven.” Heck, a letter from all my creditors that “all is forgiven.” (I have learned my lesson.)

–       A ticket to Paris for my daughter to go on her dream trip.

–       Plentiful supplies to the mother I met in Guatemala who teaches other mothers how to make “ribbon embroidered” items so they can better support themselves and their families.

–       A CFCA sponsorship for Carla, a 5-year-old child in Guatemala who I have been helping look for a sponsor for so she can be well-fed, clothed, sheltered, educated, and know she is loved by the world beyond her immediate family

–       A personal trainer and all the time (and equipment) needed to reach my goal of running a 5K in less than 30 minutes. An endless supply of supportive running shoes to meet the goal.

–       The guarantee that my children will outlive me.

–       The sudden desire on the part of my spouse to worship with me and stop smoking.

–       World peace (it’s not like I’m ever going to be Miss America or anything – this may be the only platform I ever have to say it from!)

My ideal ATM would not only “spew out,” it would have a place for deposits to be made too. Deposits of time toward the causes I love.

2 thoughts on “BSOW: ATM Dreams

  1. Thank you so much for making me “scoop of the week” (now I am craving ice cream at 6:04 a.m.!!). The blogosphere has given me many gifts, including the ability to work some things out through my writing, to make peace with some situations from the past, to think hard about how to make realities of my dreams for the future, and best of all to “meet” great people. Thank you for being one of them and for featuring me, Carla (from Guatemala), and my little ol’ blog!! Paula

Shoot the Poop with the Drama Mama!

